Indy 500 qualifying 2022: Scott Dixon wins the pole position for the fifth time

Indy 500 qualifying 2022: Scott Dixon wins the pole position for the fifth time

Published May 23, 2022
Views 30

The pole position for the 2022 Indianapolis 500 will be determined Sunday, May 22, weather permitting. Positions 13-33 were set for the May 29 race on May 21. The top 12 drivers from Saturday’s session will compete for the pole position. 

A complete Indy 500 qualifying attempt is four laps around the 2½-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval. Scott Dixon won the pole position in 2021, and he finished 17th. Race winner Helio Castroneves started 8th. The most recent pole winner to also win the race was Simon Pagenaud in 2019. 

Gates open at 10 a.m. with top 12 practice from 12:30-2 p.m. Top 12 qualifying begins at 4 p.m. and top 6 qualifying is at 5:10 p.m.

We will be tracking every qualifying attempt, so please remember to refresh. 

MEET THE INDY 500 LINEUP:A complete guide to the 33-car starting grid for the 2022 Indy 500 

Scott Dixon wins the 2022 Indy 500 pole position with a 4-lap qualifying run of 234.046 mph in Sunday afternoon’s Fast Six session. 

Dixon’s run is the fastest to win the pole position in race history, bettering Scott Brayton’s run of 233.718 in 1996. Dixon’s run is the second-fastest overall qualifying effort, behind Arie Luyendyk’s 236.986 effort, also in ’96.

(Luyendyk’s run was on the second day of qualifying that year, and under the rules of the time, that left him with the 21st starting spot.)

“This is what this place is about,” Dixon said upon exiting his car on pit road.

This is Dixon’s fifth Indy 500 pole position, leaving him alone in second place to Rick Mears’ six poles. Dixon also won the pole in 2008, ’15, ’17 and ’21. Dixon’s lone Indy 500 win in 2008 came from the No. 1 starting spot. He finished 17th in last year’s race. 

Joining him on the front row for the May 29 race are Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Alex Palou — who finished second in the 2021 race — and Rinus VeeKay, who drives for Ed Carpenter Racing. VeeKay also started third in 2021. 

Includes car number, driver name, engine make, team and 4-lap speed average 

9. Scott Dixon, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 234.046 

21. Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, Ed Carpenter Racing, 233.385 

10. Alex Palou, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 233.499 

8. Marcus Ericsson, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 232.764 

33. Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, Ed Carpenter Racing, 233.080 

1. Tony Kanaan, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 232.372 

Includes car number, driver name, engine make, team and 4-lap speed average 

Scott Dixon, Rinus VeeKay, Alex Palou, Marcus Ericsson, Ed Carpenter and Tony Kanaan advance to the final round of qualifying. That’s four Chip Ganassi Racing cars and two from Ed Carpenter Racing.

21. Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, Ed Carpenter Racing, 233.429

5. Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, Arrow McLaren SP, 232.705 

7. Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, Arrow McLaren SP, 232.182 

10. Alex Palou, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 233.347 

1. Tony Kanaan, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 233.022 

48. Jimmie Johnson, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 231.264 

► Johnson on the team radio: “That was interesting.” 

33. Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet, Ed Carpenter Racing, 233.073 

8. Marcus Ericsson, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 233.166 

28. Romain Grosjean, Honda, Andretti Autosport, 231.999 

9. Scott Dixon, Honda, Chip Ganassi Racing, 233.510

► Dixon calls the run “hairy.” Says he’s glad that one is over. 

12. Will Power, Chevrolet, Team Penske, 231.534 

51. Takuma Sato, Honda, Dale Coyne Racing with RWR, 231.670 

Temperatures are in the mid 60s under partly cloudy skies and winds are out of the north.  

Here’s the order of 4-lap qualifying simulations: Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Jimmie Johnson, Ed Carpenter, Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou, Rinus VeeKay, Romain Grosjean, Will Power, Felix Rosenqvist, Tony Kanaan and Takuma Sato. Qualifying begins at 4 p.m. 

Scott Dixon’s 223.774 mph effort is the best 4-lap simulated qualifying run. He’s followed by Marcus Ericsson (233.283) and Jimmie Johnson (223.261). Ed Carpenter, Pato O’Ward, Alex Palou and Romain Grosjean are in the 232 range over 4 laps. 

The 4-time pole sitter puts together a simulated qualifying run at 233.774 mph that includes a lap of 234.042. All 12 drivers have topped 232 mph for a single lap.

In the first 30 minutes of the 90-minute session, just two drivers had driven at qualifying speed — Marcus Ericsson and Pato O’Ward. O’Ward completed a 4-lap simulated qualifying run at 232.921 mph. 

The conditions are much different from Saturday. It’s in the low 60s and cloudy at the Speedway, which means the track temperature is lower. The wind is out of the north. It was out of the south on Saturday, so drivers will take a different approach heading into each turn. 

Rinus VeeKay, Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Alex Palou, Tony Kanaan, Jimmie Johnson, Ed Carpenter, Marcus Ericsson, Romain Grosjean, Scott Dixon, Will Power and Takuma Sato are competing for pole position. 

These drivers get one attempt each, starting with 12th fastest from Saturday (Sato) through the fastest (VeeKay). The top 6 from those attempts get one more attempt each, starting with the 6th fastest and going through the fastest. The fastest in the group of 6 earns the pole position.

► VeeKay had a 4-lap average of 233.655 mph early in Saturday’s qualifying session. 

► Sato had an eventful day. His first attempt was disallowed for interference against Marco Andretti, and on his second try, he brushed a wall in Turn 2 and kept on driving to complete the 12th-fastest attempt. 

► All five Chip Ganassi Racing drivers — Palou, Kanaan, Johnson, Ericsson and Dixon — will compete for the pole. Two drivers each from Ed Carpenter Racing (VeeKay, Carpenter) and Arrow McLaren SP (O’Ward, Rosenqvist) are in the hunt. Other teams in the top 12 include Andretti Autosport (Grosjean), Team Penske (Power) and Dale Coyne Racing with RWR (Sato).  

► Indy 500 rookies (but accomplished racers) Johnson and Grosjean are in the hunt. 

► Previous Indy 500 pole winners include Kanaan (2005), Carpenter (’13, ’14, ’18) and Dixon (’08, ’15, ’17, ’21). 

► Previous Indy 500 winners include Kanaan (2013), Dixon (’08), Power (’18) and Sato (’17, ’20).

Day 1 report:Every qualifying attempt at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Record speeds, risk-takers and rain:How Day 1 of Indy 500 qualifying unfolded

Good job, rookies: Jimmie Johnson, Romain Grosjean have a shot at pole position

Know the facility:Print your Indianapolis Motor Speedway map and get key venue info